Grateful.png

Bovenstaande foto laat een gedeelte van mijn gemaakte borduurwerk zien. Het borduurpatroon kreeg ik afgelopen kerst van Emily opgestuurd in een envelop helemaal vanuit Amerika. Afgelopen week zette ik dan toch echt het laatste rode steekje. Twee maanden heb ik er met heel veel plezier aan gewerkt!

Inmiddels zijn Emily, haar moeder Jenny en haar familie veel gaan betekenen voor mijn familie en ik, ook al hebben wij elkaar nog nooit ontmoet. Onze huizen liggen namelijk duizenden kilometers van elkaar verwijderd. En het is niet zo makkelijk om de zee over te springen, al zouden wij dat zo doen als het kon! 😉 Toch staat dat met name de vriendschap tussen mijn mama en Emily’s moeder niet in de weg.

Ik moet toegeven dat ik het een van de mooiste vriendschappen vind in mijn directe omgeving. Want ook al ben je twee continenten van elkaar verwijderd – er is niets duidelijker dan die onvoorwaardelijke steun, aandacht en liefde die mama & Jenny voor elkaar hebben. Dit bracht mij dan ook op het idee om deze week mijn moment van dankbaarheid op te schrijven en te richten tot Jenny. Zij kreeg deze week namelijk wel heel goed nieuws!

Dear Jenny,

Since the beginning of 2016 I have accepted the 52 weeks photo challenge on Facebook. A challenge in which I am writing a weekly blogpost by means of a theme. I had to think of you this week and I would like to dedicate this post about gratitude to you.

First of all I’ll have to admit that my Mom is way better in writing English. Nevertheless I am hoping you’ll understand my message. And if you don’t, we’re fortunate to use Google translate which helps us along the way. 😉 When Mom called me yesterday about the good news you’ve received, I couldn’t be more happy and excited. Our joy filled both rooms immediately: what a relief! Since you’ve been diagnosed with cancer, you have been so strong, courageous and persevere. You always knew that God and your sweet family would be there to support you in an inexhaustible way. And you were absolutely right.

It was up to you to see the beauty of everyday things. You have learnt to focus on what you were having instead of obsessing about the things you could not have. And even though some days were definitely not your favorite days, you did not forget that every single day was a gift. In fact those gifts gave you the opportunity to make days, hours, minutes and seconds count in the most beautiful way.

I’d like to thank you for your friendship with my Mom. To see her so happy everyday and the way she talks about you, your stories, your lovely crosstitch patterns and your love. All of this brings us so much joy! And I’m thankful for the fact that the chemo is working for you and caused a shrink of tumor tissue.

It made me more than ever realize that I’m a lucky lucky bird. And it has made me realize how grateful I can be for my health, my family, my friends, my safety and my education. And more important it has made me grateful for the fact that I have absolutely nothing to complain about.

Today I’m more than grateful that you are in our lives Jenny! And I’m very very happy that the worse part of your treatment will be over before the end of March.

Please remember that you are braver than you believe and that we will always be with you on your road. 

Love & kisses, also for Emily, Scott & Andrew,

Sofia

Geef een reactie

